YFCU Silage Making Final 2016

14 February 2016

 YFCU Silage Making Final 2016

David Hunter from Newtownstewart YFC has been named the winner of the Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster (YFCU) 2016 silage making competition sponsored by John Thompson & Sons Limited.

The competition began in November with members from over 30 clubs from throughout Northern Ireland taking part in regional heats.  From this the highest scorer from each county made it through to the final.
The finalists were David Hunter (Newtownstewart YFC), Jack Johnston (Randalstown YFC), Alastair Craig (City of Derry YFC), Glen McKeown (Lisbellaw YFC), Ian Walker (Collone YFC) and Nathan McFarlane (Ballymiscaw YFC).

The competitors were assessed by judges Mary Jane Robinson from John Thompson and Sons Limited and Samuel Hill, dedicated member of Randalstown YFC. The judges travelled to the farm of each finalist and carried out a visual inspection of the silage taking into account its fermentation, digestibility and dry matter content as well as the sealing of the silo and the way in which the effluent was collected. They also conducted an interview with each of the finalists in relation to how the silage was made and their current feeding policy.

David Hunter from Newtownstewart YFC was announced as this year’s winner with Jack Johnston, Randalstown YFC taking second place and Ian Walker, Collone YFC placing third. YFCU would like to thank the judging panel for taking the time to make their expertise available to the Association. It would also like to extend a note of appreciation to John Thompson & Sons Limited for their continued support of this event.

Pictured are Judge Mary Jane Robinson, John Thomspon and Sons; David Hunter, winner of the event from Newtownstewart YFC and judge Samuel Hill from Ballywalter YFC.

Sponsored by