Young Farmers’ Announce Top Active Members at President’s Award Scheme

19 September 2019

Young Farmers’ Announce Top Active Members at President’s Award Scheme

YFCU President, Zita McNaugher with Hannah McClelland, Coleraine YFC and Ellie Hawthorne, Collone YFC - 12-14 age category

Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster (YFCU) is delighted to announce this year’s winners of the President’s Award Scheme. Eighteen YFCU members who came out top in their age categories were invited to the award ceremony which was held on Thursday 19 September at CAFRE, Loughry Campus.

This is the second year that the Association has organised the scheme which aims to encourage members to get involved in additional activities and events offered by YFCU.

With an increase in participation of 43% on last year, this year’s scheme had 116 members who were awarded certificates.  At the ceremony, the top three winners of each age category were presented with a copy of their certificate and a commemorative plaque, to mark their achievement.

Commenting on the scheme, YFCU President Zita McNaugher said, “I’d like to congratulate all those who have achieved the President’s Award. It recognises the hard work and commitment from members not only at competitions but at all the other events we run throughout the year. Members have participated to the best of their ability to achieve their award and they should be extremely proud of this.”

Karen Walker, Collone YFC, winner of the 14-16 age category, commented, “I love being a member of the Young Farmers because it gives me the opportunity to make friends and take part in lots of competitions, in particular the Arts Festival and Girls’ Football.”

Robert Sloan, Kilrea YFC, winner of the over 25 age category, also commented, “I have been in the Young Farmers for over 17 years and I always say that it’s not the winning that counts but the taking part.  There is a great mix of educational and social activities and many relationships formed that last a lifetime.”

The results are as follows:

12-14 age category

14-16 age category:

16-18 age category:

18-21 age category:

21-25 age category:

Over 25 category:

14-16 age category 

YFCU President, Zita McNaugher with:

Sophie Hawthorne, Collone YFC

Karen Walker, Collone YFC 

16-18 age category 

YFCU President, Zita McNaugher with:

Zoe Weir, Annaclone YFC

Alexis Kidd, Lisnamurrican YFC

Cara Millar, Coleraine YFC


18-21 age category 

YFCU President, Zita McNaugher with:

Adam Alexander, Kilrea YFC

Laura Patterson, Holestone YFC

Matthew Livingstone, Collone YFC 

21-25 age category 

YFCU President, Zita McNaugher with:

Ian Walker, Collone YFC

Lynne Montgomery, City of Derry YFC

Richard Beattie, Finvoy YFC


Over 25 age category    

YFCU President, Zita McNaugher with:

Melissa Sloan, Kilrea YFC

Robert Sloan, Kilrea YFC

Christine Maybin, Lisnamurrican YFC